Alumni

Graduate Alumni

2020

Ragini Bhow / raginibhow.com
Ragini b.1991 in Minneapolis, is an artist working between India and USA. Bhow lived and worked from Bangalore India (her family home) to the Thar Desert Rajasthan and Mumbai before recently moving back to the US to enrol in the MFA Art & Ecology program at the University of New Mexico. Primarily an installation artist she works between wide-ranging scales and mediums including sculpture, photography, film and drawing to communicate a deep fascination with the immaterial and uncanny. Influenced by energies and entities operating between inner and outer landscapes, Bhow explores the unknown, synchronicity, and their connection to afterlife. Her work presents a tense convergence of elements such as light and metal to suspend space between illusion and metaphor. Bhow has exhibited her work in solo and group shows within India and globally including Kleine-Humboldt Galerie Berlin, KHOJ New Delhi, GallerySKE Bangalore, and Galerie Mirchandani & Steinruecke Mumbai; She has participated in residencies such as The Story of Light, Goa commissioned for the United Nation’s 2015 International Year of Light Festival where she created a large scale public installation along the Indian ocean shore. The artist currently lives and works in Albuquerque, New Mexico.

Kristen Geary / www.kristengeary.com
Kristen Geary uses drawing, installation, text and performance to explore relationships within neocolonial systems of exchange. Her most recent work addresses the journeys of tropical fruit imported to the United States. In 2012 Kristen graduated with a BA in Art Education K-12 from Bethel University in St Paul, Minnesota. She is currently an MFA candidate at the University of New Mexico in the Art and Ecology program.

nicholas jacobsen / nicholasbjacobsen.com
Born in the skeletal landscape of Southwestern Utah, nicholas b jacobsen was raised by dramatic high-desert land, mysticisms of Mormonism, and childhood trauma. He graduate in 2012 with a BFA from Southern Utah University, where he studied ceramic pottery. He then moved to Omaha, Nebraska to work with international artist, Jun Kaneko. There, he began making hyper-organized installations of detritus found in the space they were displaced, exploring ways of working with, learning from, and talking about place. He spent 2015-2017 in Philadelphia, where he continued working with local detritus through photography, video, and sculpture. Here, further removed from familiar surroundings, the work became more personal, developing a rich quietness. He now lives in Albuquerque, in the uncannily familiar high desert to pursue an MFA in Art & Ecology at the University of New Mexico in Albuquerque. Here he studies Western nature/culture dichotomies with a desire to expose the myths that divorce humans from nature. nicholas was one of Omaha World Herald’s “Five Artists to Watch,” has been published in Things Organized Neatly and The Alibi, and has won two Omaha Entertainment and Arts Awards.

Jessica Zeglin / jessicazeglin.com
Jessica Zeglin’s artwork uses sound, drawing, textiles and installation to engage skills of listening and empathy for ourselves and our human and other-than-human kin. Her current research involves comparative acoustic ecology studies of grasslands, seeking to redistribute these sounds in places where they have been lost. She holds a Bachelor of Arts and a Master of Public Health from the University of Minnesota and is a third year student in the Master of Fine Arts program in Art and Ecology.

2019

Viola Arduini / www.violaarduini.com/
Viola is an Italian artist currently based in Albuquerque, New Mexico. In her work, she investigates the relationships formed by humans, animals, and technology. Graduated in Documentary Photography (MA) from University of South Wales (UK) in 2015, she’s completed her MFA in Art & Ecology at University of New Mexico in 2019.

2018

Kaitlin Bryson / www.kaitlinbryson.com/
Kaitlin Bryson lives and works in the high deserts of New Mexico, and has spent her life working as an artist and organic farmer. Drawing from her experience as a cultivator, her artwork illuminates the processual nature of life through the lens of transformation. Biological materials are embedded into her work so that the “finished” pieces have the potential to play, transform, and live out their own dynamic processes. Her work unfolds as restorative gestures for human and nonhuman audiences, serving as a reminder that mutability and adaptability are the common grounds we all inhabit. Bryson received a Bachelor of Fine Arts from The University of Nevada, Reno in 2012, and a Master of Fine Arts in Art & Ecology from the University of New Mexico in 2018. Her work has been included in group exhibitions at The Holland Project in Reno, Nevada, Site Santa Fe, and BioCultura in Santa Fe, New Mexico, and has been performed at The Holocene in Portland, Oregon. In January of 2018 Bryson will participate in the Interface Residency Programme in Gallway, Ireland, supported by funding in part from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, and the Lannan Foundation.

Hollis Moore / www.hollislmoore.com/
Hollis is an artist and educator currently living in Albuquerque, NM. She investigates environmental issues related to water scarcity with performative field research, printmaking, and installation. Moore begins each project by facing a tenuous perception on an ecological system and progresses as she unfolds her knowledge about that place. Her deformation of knowledge results in materialization of artwork. She brings process to the forefront: knowledge as process, land as process, and making as process. What materializes is reciprocity with the land.
Moore has participated in artist residencies with Women’s Studio Workshop, Land Arts of the American West, LEAP, and Signal Fire Arts. Her work has been included in Emergency Index Performance Publication and in shows at the Santa Fe Art Institute, Tamarind Institute, and Texas A & M University Islander Gallery. She earned her MFA from UNM in 2018 and her BA from Colorado College in 2013.

Lara Goldmann / www.laragoldmann.com

2017

Erin Fussell / https://erinfussell.com/

2016

Adrian Pijoan / http://adrianpijoan.net/

Staci Page / https://www.landworkstudio.com/

Cristine Posner / https://www.cristineposner.com/

2015

Russell Bauer / http://rabwork.com/

Elizabeth Shores / http://www.elizabethshores.com/

2014

Nina Dubois / http://www.nina-dubois.com/

Lea Andersson / http://leamartaandersson.com/

Ryan Henel / https://www.ryanhenel.com/

2013

Jane Gordon

Undergraduate Alumni

Eric-Paul Riege (2017)
ericpaulriege.com/

Moriah Fiebeger (2015)

Jami Porter Lara (2013)
www.jamiporterlara.com/

Adele Ardent
www.adeleardent.com/

Ian Kerstetter
kerstetter.wixsite.com

Kodi Wilhelm